Scion IQ Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to buy a Scion IQ 2012. The sale's lady told me it can last as long as other regular Toyota such as Toyota Camry, as it is built with the same engine. I doubt about it, as Camry can last about 200k. I read a discuss about Smart car which can last about 100k. Can anyone expert help me with this question please? Thank you.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I am no expert and I am looking to get an IQ hopefully by month's end but Toyotas are known for longevity. I heard a story once there was an older Corolla with 200,000 miles that was set on fire and still started up and ran when the fire was put out. The story was either a YouTube video or one of those reality shows. Can't remember because I heard this story 10 years ago.
As far as Smart cars go, people who live in Europe and live here in Florida part of the year have Smart cars here and in Europe. They say a Smart will go 150,000. I have driven both the IQ and the Smart and the IQ blows the Smart away. 3 cylinder engine against 4 cylinder in the IQ. More power and better safety with 11 airbags and better warranty with 2 yrs free maintance so I figure an IQ would beat the 150k of the Smart if properly cared for.

·
Registered
124 Posts
We have run Toyota products out to 300,000+ miles without significant mechanical difficulties. (There were the occasional blown AC compressor, a water pump that wore out and stuff like that. But, the fundamentals of the drive train, suspension, body integrity and so on wore very well.)

Cosmetically (as in looking dated), the cars and vans became obsolete. But, as a means of transport, they wore very well.

We had a 2009 smart Passion coupe that wore very well as well. Only ran it out to 50,000 miles, however, so I can't speak to the long term there.

Damn'd thing rode like an armored personnel carrier with the front snubbers missing, though. Had to trade it in to preserve our spnes.

·