Scion IQ Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Over the last few weeks I've been hearing a clunk coming from the left front every time I turned right, loading up the left, and hit a small bump like a driveway or a crack in the road. I took it into my dealer and they diagnosed it as a bad strut. They'll replace it on Friday under warranty. Bad news/good news I guess. :cool:
Listen up all, I want to find out if this "clunk" is a more common occurrence than reported? JLStrange was first to report it.....I've been noticing the same noise on mine for the past several months, and in talking to Airbagged recently, I found out he had the same "clunk" happening on his Q. JLStrange had his strut replaced, but all Airbagged did, being the mechanic he is, jacked his up, removed the tire/wheel and fender cowling, and found that the shock nut beneath the rubber cover where the strut attaches to the frame, had worked itself loose. He used some lok-tight and then re-tightened it back up which solved the problem. As soon as the temperature in my garage gets above freezing, I will be doing the same thing to see if that is what is causing the noise in mine? If it is this same "loose nut", then I wonder how many other Q owners are experiencing this and don't realize it? JLStrange's problem may have been this loose nut and though maybe not necessary, the replacing of his whole strut would have fixed it also. SO, if anybody else out there is experiencing this "clunking" noise coming from the front when you hit a mild bump, respond to this posting and speak up so we can figure out if the the magnitude of this occurring is more prevalent than we know and if these nuts have a tendency to loosen themselves up or weren't adequately secured/tightened at the factory? I will let you know what I find out with mine.......

·
Premium Member
2,831 Posts
That's not a very reassuring thought that a stock nut is coming loose...

·
Registered