Scion IQ Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know how the cargo net anchors install? By pictures it looks like they screw into the spots at hatch where black plastic meets the grey, but the anchors screw is far too long.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Unfortunately you are correct, i am a parts salesman at a toyota dealership and have incountered this problem. The cure is to bring it back to the dealer you purchased it from and have them cut about 1/4 in off the screw then have them call toyota and tell them about the issue, i have done this once so far. They need a couple to redesign the screw. It needs to be longer but not as long as they made it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Does anyone know how the cargo net anchors install? By pictures it looks like they screw into the spots at hatch where black plastic meets the grey, but the anchors screw is far too long.
Unfortunately it is a issue, i work in parts at a toyota/scion dealership and have encountered this problem, the screw needs to be longer but not as long as they made them. Take it back to the dealer and have them call toyota and make them aware of the issue, i have called once and emailed pictures but they need a few calls to redesign the screw. I cut about 1/3 of the length off and it worked perfect for the customer.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Actually the directions on the bag tell you to drill a hole with a drill stop at the required depth (I wouldn't do it without it) You drill through two layers of sheet metal. You are told to use something like Locktite on the screws to keep them from backing out too(So far, haven't felt the need. My guess is if you cut it down in size it would be more likely to back out with time.