Scion IQ Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been a truck owner for 30-some years . . . full size Chevy . . 4 wheel drive. Everyone knows my truck. So, for me to consider, decide and order this little car is SO out of my norm. Mid-Life crisis ?? Maybe, but with gas prices ever increasing it made perfect sense. I'm fun, and I wanted something fun, something different . . . TOTALLY different. I had been researching the Smart Car 4two for several years, but couldn't get past the not-so-terrific gas mileage and less then impressive value to cost ratio. Then one day a commercial came on TV. That did it. I loved the look, the benefits over the Smart Car, the MPG, the cost and that it came in solid Black ! I took one on a test drive and haven't been that nervous about anything in a long time. I was hooked, line and sinker. It took my dealer a little while to find a Black one, and I added the sway bar, lower springs, spoiler, wheels, front mat, cargo mat and net. It's perfect for me. I ride alone, and the groceries ride in the cargo area. I am vertically challenged and appreciate a hatchback that I can actually reach up to close. I average 38-40 mpg unless my husband drives it, and have over 3,700 miles to date (3 months), so it's getting lots of use.

Owning it has been interesting also: I've had people taking pictures of it on their cell phones, others asking to see inside it, lots of people giving me a thumbs up, one lady rolled her window down asking about it at each of 3 red lights as we traveled together down the road. I've made one guy miss his left turn light because he was staring at me. And I got a laugh from a cammed-up Corvette when I motioned that I'd race him off the light. It's been a blast and I have enjoyed each and every day I get to drive it. Glad to have found you guys. I'm the only IQ around my area. This will be refreshing to hear all of your stories, concerns and advice.

·
Registered
985 Posts